NACDD Announces Annual Award Recipients

On March 18th, NACDD announced the winners of its annual leadership, excellence and impact awards for 2014.

Joseph W. Cullen Award for outstanding contributions to Chronic Disease Prevention and Control outside the traditional public health field, was awarded to Kathleen Nolan, of the National Association of Medicaid Directors (NAMD) for her work with the Affordable Care Act and Medicaid sustainability.  She has had a long history of service to states through the National Governor’s Association, ASTHO and the Colorado Department of Health.

Award for Excellence in the Prevention and Control of Chronic Disease was awarded to David M. Vigil, Bureau Chief of the Chronic Disease Prevention and Control Bureau, New Mexico Department of Health.  Among a long list of accomplishments, David developed the state’s first integrated chronic disease plan and authored CTG funding to support walking paths, community gardens and school salad bars in 14 communities.  David has also served nationally, as the Treasurer of NACDD.

Community Impact Award for an individual or team that has achieved significant influence in a community related to chronic disease control and prevention, was awarded to Melissa Gaetano and Kathy Varney of the Warren-Washington, NY’s Glens Falls Hospital’s Health Promotion Center for their work to lead 64 policy and environmental changes in 18 communities.  They established 11 complete streets policies and generated $844,000 in funding for pedestrian and bicycle improvements, as well as installed 14 bike racks and 21 pedestrian benches in 9 communities.

Careers at NACDD

You are exiting NACDD’s website to enter a third-party site