Celebrating Leaders in Chronic Disease Prevention

Impact Brief Sept 2021 – CEO Message

Last week, we hosted our Annual Business Meeting, where we shared with our Members reports on our financial strength, policy and program successes, our progress on our strategic plan, and the new resources and tools that NACDD has developed to support you in the “new normal.” The meeting was also a time for us to celebrate leaders in chronic disease prevention and control as we announced NACCD’s Impact Awards winners and our incoming and outgoing Board Members. (Read the press release announcing the new Board).

This year we presented 12 Impact Awards (the most in our history!) ranging from Rising Stars to Lifetime Achievement (read more about the winners).

We also are honored to welcome seven new Board Members, who will begin their term Oct. 1. Kristi Pier will serve as our new Board President, and Dr. Susan Kansagra, will move into the role of Past President. NACDD has benefitted greatly from Dr. Kansagra’s steady hand, dedicated support, and extraordinary commitment to helping our field grow and evolve. During the business meeting Dr. Kansagra highlighted the states who participated in her President’s Challenge to advance racial equity as a core competency of state chronic disease programs. Pier announced the challenge for FY 2022 will build upon past work of bridging the gaps in health equity and racial equity, while also focusing on recovery and resilience within public health teams and communities. (Learn more about the NACDD President’s Challenge.)

Our Senior Director of Programs Marti Macchi discussed our FY 2022 project portfolio—NACDD’s federal grants include 36 projects under CSTLTS; COVID-19: Messaging to Chronic Disease Directors Part 2; and Building Resilient and Inclusive Communities (BRIC): Improving Food Security, Access to Safe Physical Activity, and Social Connectedness to Reduce Risks of COVID-19; among others. Our largest bodies of work include cancer (10 projects), heart disease and stroke prevention (6 projects), diabetes (6 projects), and workforce development (4 projects). Current and upcoming media projects we have collaborated on with CDC and other national partners include:

In the meeting we also announced our new partnership with Wanderly, a staffing marketplace that supports the rapid deployment of public health roles nationwide. If you want to recruit for a job, we can help get them hired through our Wanderly partnership–stay tuned for more information.

If you missed the annual business meeting, you can watch the video recording or view the PPT.


Community Impact

  • Susan (Sue) Millstein, Diabetes Program Manager at the New York State Department of Health.
  • The Division of Cancer Prevention & Control at the South Carolina Department of Health & Environmental Control.
  • The Oral Health Unit at the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

Chronic Disease Innovator

  • The Cancer Prevention and Control Team at the Arizona Department of Health Services.
  • The Colorado Diabetes Program within the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

Health Equity Champion

  • Center for Chronic Care and Disease Management within the Rhode Island Department of Health.
  • Dr. Elizabeth (Lisa) McClain, Chief Wellness Officer, Arkansas Colleges of Health Education.

Rising Star

  • Amy Patel, the Overdose Prevention Program Lead at the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services.
  • Nicole Smith, a Diabetes Program Consultant at the Ohio Department of Health.

Mentor Award

  • Becky DiOrio, the Diabetes Program Manager at the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment.

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Pama Joyner, a former Chronic Disease Director within the Washington Department of Health.

ProVention Health Foundation Innovation Award

NACDD’s ProVention Health Foundation presented this award to Cappa Health. Dr. Michael Tingey, Founder and Chief Medical Officer, and Ray Lyons, Chief Executive Officer, accepted the award.

Learn more about the Impact Awards and awardees at chronicdisease.org/naccd-announces-2021-impact-award-winners.

The complete FY 2021-2022 Board:


President: Kristi Pier, MHS, MCHES, Maryland

Past President: Susan Kansagra, MD, MBA, North Carolina

President-Elect: Ryan Lester, MPH, Kansas

Treasurer: Sonja Schriever, RN,Idaho

Secretary: Linda Scarpetta, MPH,Michigan

At Large Directors

Teresa Aseret-Manygoats, MPA, Arizona

Linnea Fletcher, MPH, MPA, CHES, Utah

Marisa Lara, MPH, RD, CLC, New Hampshire

Melissa Martin, MBA, RDN, LDN, Louisiana

Morgan McDonald, MD, FACP, FAAP, Tennessee

Jill Myers Geadelmann, Iowa

Tari O’Connor, MSW, Alaska

Lea Susan Ojamaa, MPH, Massachusetts

Bala Simon, MD, DrPH, MPH, FAAFP, Arkansas

Jennifer Sousa, MPH, MBA, Florida

Associate At Large Directors

David Hoffman, DPS, CCE, New York

Leslie McKnight, Ph.D, Illinois

Careers at NACDD

You are exiting NACDD’s website to enter a third-party site